Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Pradeep Kumar Sacitharan, a final year student at the Kennedy Institute, has won the Bone Research Society (BRS) New Investigator Award at the 3rd Joint Meeting BRS/BSMB, which took place in Edinburgh earlier in the month. The BRS is one of the largest national scientific societies in Europe dedicated to clinical and basic research into mineralised tissues, and is the oldest such society in the world.

This year the BRS had a joint annual meeting with the British Society of Matrix Biology which was held Edinburgh. Each year at this annual meeting, abstracts are blind scored for scientific merit and the author/s with a top scoring abstract receive the award.

Pradeep is supervised by Professor Tonia Vincent and Dr James Edwards at NDORMS and is working on the relationship between ageing and osteoarthritis.

After winning the award the final year student said: "I am delighted to receive this award so early in my career. I have attended the BRS meetings in the past and received great support from the society. It is an honour for my work to be recognised by the society and its senior scientific members. I hope to build upon this success and contribute more to the field in the future." We wish Pradeep the best of luck in his future research endeavours.

Similar stories

Oxford-Bristol Myers Squibb Fellowships awarded to NDORMS researchers

Researchers from the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology have been awarded fellowships as part of the Oxford-Bristol Myers Squibb Fellowship Programme. Among six researchers from across NDORMS, the programme provides them with an opportunity to gain exposure to the field of commercial drug discovery and development.

New Associate Professors announced at NDORMS

The Medical Sciences Division has awarded the title of Associate Professor to five senior researchers at NDORMS

Doctor Ghada Alsaleh awarded a Versus Arthritis Career Development Fellowship

Postdoctoral Researcher Ghada Alsaleh has been awarded a research grant by Versus Arthritis which she will use to develop a new therapy for osteoarthritis.

NDORMS researchers awarded ECTS prizes

Professor Anjali Kusumbe and Professor Cyrus Cooper have been presented with research awards by the European Calcified Tissue Society (ECTS).

Professor Katja Simon elected to the Academy of Medical Sciences

Professor of Immunology Katja Simon has been elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

Professor Michael Dustin elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Recognised for his outstanding contributions to the field of immunology, Michael becomes the fourth Kennedy professor to be elected to the Academy.